Cronulla Golf Club was officially opened on 15th December, 1923 by Sir William Vicars. Prior to this date golf was played from Cronulla Hotel, down and across Elouera Road and back along the beach side of Elouera Road. Forty five acres of land was purchased to build a nine hole golf course, which had a club house in the form of a large cottage. The function room now stands as the original cottage. In the early 1940s fifty acres of swamp land adjoining its boundaries was purchased and rezoned to extend a further nine holes. After many working bees the course was extended from 9 holes to 12 to 16 and ultimately 18 in 1957. During the latter part of 1960s a substantial part of the club's spare land (swamp) was acquired by the department of Education and used in the construction of Woolooware High School, its grounds and part of the car park at Cronulla Leagues Club. The club house was rebuilt and extended in 1969. Today the Golf Club is privately owned and controlled by the members.
Giving geographical context to places of interest in Australia